Google bans four Android apps as millions warned to delete 'dangerous' software – Daily Record

Google bans four Android apps as millions warned to delete 'dangerous' software – Daily Record

A couple of ‘malicious’ apps recently appeared on the Google Play store which put customers at risk of data theft.
Android users have been warned to check any apps that they've recently downloaded from the Google Play store as they contain malicious software.
Over a million people downloaded the dangerous apps which trick users into visiting websites that attempt to steal data.
They have since been removed from the online store, but if you have downloaded them, you'll need to delist them from your phone as soon as possible to minimise the risk of danger, the Express reports.
The four apps were all created under the company name 'Mobile Apps Group'. At the time of writing, the developer's website was not accessible to the public.
Bluetooth Auto Connect was the most popular download, with over a million users installing it since its release in October 2020.
The other offending apps were Bluetooth App Sender, Mobile transfer: smart switch and Driver: Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, USB.
The apps flew under the radar because of how long they took to prey on customers' data. When the app was first downloaded, it seemed to be working as any normal one would.
But after a couple of days, spam phishing websites start appearing on a victim's device. It may that these websites aren't too much to be worried about but as time goes on the pages get more dangerous.
"After the initial delay, the malicious app opens phishing sites in Chrome," Malwarebytes explained. "The content of the phishing sites varies – some are harmless sites used simply to produce pay-per-click, and others are more dangerous phishing sites that attempt to trick unsuspecting users."
They continued: "For example, one site includes adult content that leads to phishing pages that tell the user they've been infected, or need to perform an update.
"The Chrome tabs are opened in the background even while the mobile device is locked. When the user unlocks their device, Chrome opens with the latest site. A new tab opens with a new site frequently, and as a result, unlocking your phone after several hours means closing multiple tabs. The users browser history will also be a long list of nasty phishing sites."
They're no longer available to buy on the Google Play Store, but users have been urged to delist them from their devices immediately.
Don't miss the latest news from around Scotland and beyond. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.
Woman leaves boyfriend's family dinner after his father tells her to be quiet over meal
Lavish mansion bigger than Buckingham Palace abandoned in UK countryside for 20 years
Hair expert shares tips for a 'healthy scalp' – including the 'only' time you should wash locks

source

Apk Bazar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *